Mozambique: Government Ratifies Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty

(May 2, 2008) On April 8, 2008, the Mozambican Republic Assembly ratified the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty, becoming the 145th state to do so. According to the treaty, Mozambique cannot carry out any tests involving the explosion of nuclear weapons or any type of nuclear explosion; it is obligated to avoid such explosions in any place under its jurisdiction or control; and it must not encourage other nations to carry out nuclear explosions. (Maputo Ratifica Tratado de Interdição de Testes Nucleares, NOTÍCIAS LUSÓFONAS, Apr. 8, 2008.)